Tap densities

First, I’d like to thank all the students for transitioning to WordPress. From what I can tell, OpenWetWare is not being developed any more and from my standpoint, should not be used. I will have to figure out a way to move notebook entries written there to WordPress for both me and Sarah.

Tumblr is a great blog type service and there is nothing wrong with it. I just felt that we should all be on the same page when it comes to notebook. Plus, WordPress will email when a notebook entry has been made. This is ideal for me and anyone that is working on multiple projects and wants to stay connected with the people updating things.

Thanks again everyone!

  1. #1 by Anthony Salvagno on June 16, 2012 - 12:52 pm

    So you know, any site with an RSS feed can be imported into google reader. That’s how I’ve been keeping track of the stuff in your lab. Tumblr, WordPress, etc all in one place! But that’s sad about OWW. If you figure out how to transfer stuff without doing it manually or cutting and pasting let me know. I want to move my OWW stuff as well and have just been too lazy to do it by hand. I’ll be seeing Trever Owens in about a week or so, maybe he has some ideas.

    • #2 by andymaloney on June 16, 2012 - 1:28 pm

      Yes I know about RSS. Even though I do live in a cave…on Mars…and I do cover my ears with my hands all the time. 🙂 The only problem is that I don’t look at my RSS fead every day but I do look at my email every day. Hence the desire to get an email when things are updated.

      Do say hi to Trevor for me. As for the content scrapper for OWW, I’ll have to play around with it because getting the text html from pages is easy but I’m not so sure about getting image content and having that upload automatically to WordPress. I suppose if all of my media files where on a different site than OWW, it would be a little easier. Ugh…yet another project to do. I wonder if Bill wrote something that would do this before he left OWW.

      • #3 by Anthony Salvagno on June 16, 2012 - 1:42 pm

        I realized you knew about RSS, so I should not have said “So you know…” That was more for the world wide web peeps who may not have known.

        Anyways, I know WordPress can import pictures from a URL, but I don’t know if it downloads the file into the database or if it just strictly links to the original. Whatever script you use would have to understand the template feature of MediaWiki to grab the images and their urls. This will be an interesting challenge. Keep me posted and maybe I can help at some point.

  2. #4 by Anthony Salvagno on June 24, 2012 - 9:22 pm

    Can you post the links to your student notebooks? Or direct me to the location of those links?

Leave a Reply

