Return to Open Science

New lab, new notebook, still open science.

I have received my first postdoc position with Dr. Hugh Smyth at The University of Texas at Austin in the Pharmacology Department. I’m super excited to be here and to start again doing open sciene in a new notebook.

I have been reading my former lab mate’s blog, Anthony Salvagno, and how he has been using WordPress as his new lab notebook. I signed up for an account here and will be using this area as my new lab notebook. Another inpirational open notebook scientist that uses WordPress as his lab notebook is Carl Boettiger.

Both Anthony and Carl have their own server where they have installed WordPress and use it as a database for their notebooks. I will be doing something different in that I am going to be using WorkPress.com as my notebook. There are differences in both setups and while having your own installation of WordPresss and your own server gives you more advanced features, I am curious to see if this route is viable as a means to share my notebook.

With places like FigShare, Google Docs, YouTube, and Picassa, I’m sure I will be able to use this as a viable method for open science. We shall see if this little experiment works out using WordPress.com

,

  1. #1 by Anthony Salvagno (@Thescienceofant) on November 2, 2011 - 6:23 pm

    I think it is important to mention something from the conversation you and I had a week ago. One potential benefit of having the notebook on WordPress.com is longevity. While IheartAnthony is great, one day I may not want to pay for it anymore and research.iheartanthony.com may be no more. WordPress.com is subject to the same rules, but because it is such a large site hopefully it will be around for much longer. Of course, no one knows the truth because the internet has only been around for ~20 years and that is small in interest of archiving.

  2. #4 by Steven J. Koch (@skoch3) on November 2, 2011 - 9:10 pm

    At least one comment and some likes on friendfeed: http://friendfeed.com/stevekoch/05cefc7f/andy-maloney-back-to-open-science

  3. #5 by Carl Boettiger (@cboettig) on November 3, 2011 - 4:19 am

    I’m looking forward to your new notebook! Yes, wordpress.com certainly has its advantages, including server stability, longevity, and cost, which can reduce the barrier to entry of others looking to get started. If only it would support some of the key academic plugins like kcite. Thanks for the mention!

Leave a Reply

